top of page

first day of December

The air is frozen, the city is crowded and the countdown begins. 25 days of pure joy and happiness before Santa comes on the night of Christmas Eve. So this is how it all begins!



The Christmas tree is already up, the lights are prepared for the big opening of Santa's town in the middle of the town. I can already smell the sweetness of the caramel and cinnamon while carols are blessing my soul. Children's laughter is all around me covering my ears while my eyes are still staring at the star on top of the tree. My coffee has gone cold but I don't mind, it's too late actually. In a black dress and full makeup on, I am rushing to the theatre for the play. Of course, I'm late, nothing new lately, but surprisingly no one minds. It's that dumb happiness that makes everyone forget the mistakes made. I'm not complaining, I am glad I didn't get a "motivational speech", but this forced joy that everyone swallows after the 1st of December is getting out of hand. Again, my mind is racing and I can't focus on what's happening in front of me. The play is shorter than ever, knowing for a fact after working at the theatre for six months. I am dreaming of the moment I can eat out with my friend, we planned to go to a nice restaurant nearby the theatre. After a five minutes walk which felt like an eternity thanks to the coldness of the day, we are sitting now at a table, searching through the menu for something good. Of course, I am the first to choose what I want: something not too fancy but sure delicious and a coffee. She picks the exact same thing, nothing new, and I am ordering for the two of us. After a quick run to the bathroom to check myself, a lunch as delicious as overpriced, and some glamorous photos which I'm planning to post later, it's time for our insignificant conversations. I'm laughing, for the first time today I am truly feeling myself. The ambiance is quite welcoming, good food, coffee smell, jazz music in the background, a good friend with you, this kinda stuff makes me feel safe. I look at the clock, oh it's already six pm, I gotta go home. We say goodbye near the big Christmas tree from earlier, I watch her until I cannot distinguish her from the crowd and I begin walking towards the tram station. Lots of people freezing while waiting, the sign that shows a postponing of my tram... I chose to walk even though it's quite dark already. I take a moment to admire the lights on the big boulevard, the atmosphere is quite nice, a street musician is trying to sing some sorts of carols, at least he's smiling. It's even darker now, I gotta keep going. I'm not scared though, the streets are crowded. As I am going up the stairs I finally realize I am almost home. Greeting my parents while taking my coat off, I run to the bathroom to sink my frozen body in the warm water from the bath that's been prepared for me. Now I am completely at the bottom of the bath, trying to put my thoughts together. The water is cold now, I must have stayed for a while. I put my pajamas on, turn the tv on, and started browsing the channels. Oh it's almost the next morning and I didn't even feel it pass... wait a minute, it's December the second, not even 24 more days 'till Christmas.

Wooden Door

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

News about upcoming projects and collaborations .

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page